Welcome to the Norfolk Record Office website MLA Designation logo

The Norfolk Record Office collects and preserves records of historical significance for the county of Norfolk and makes them accessible to as wide a range of people as possible. It is a joint service of the County and District Councils of Norfolk. In 2005, the Museums, Libraries and Archives Council (MLA) granted Designation status to the Record Office's entire collection.

County Archivist: Dr John Alban.

NEWS:

Bank holiday closure: the record office will close on Friday, 22 August, at 5.00pm and re-open on Tuesday, 26 August, at 9.30am.

School Holiday Activity Sessions for August are now available.

Our latest newsletter (July 2008) is available (pdf).

'East meets East': an exhibition in the Long Gallery of posters showing Norfolk's historical connexions with China, 25 June-30 August 2008. Admission free.

Services Information
Research Service (pdf) Tracing Your Family Tree (pdf)
Copying Service (pdf) Tracing the History of Your House (pdf)
Education and Outreach Service Other Information Leaflets
Current Price List (pdf) Parish Registers and Transcripts: summary
Publications (pdf) Free Church Registers: summary (pdf)
Purchasing Parish Registers on Microfiche (pdf) Advice on caring for your Books and Documents at home (pdf)
Norfolk Sound Archive Useful links and addresses
Summaries of collections About the Record Office
NROCAT A history of the Record Office
Online catalogues Archive Collecting Policy
Guide to Holdings
New Accessions
City of Norwich Archives (pdf)
Great Yarmouth Borough Archives (pdf)
King's Lynn Borough Archives (pdf)

Updated: 05 August 2008